...And this weekend was coming to such a nice close

Joined Jan 2005
2K Posts | 0+
So Cal
Well, the annual fireworks display held by my town just finished and I get a call from back east. It turns out my uncle, who is also my godfather, is in the hospital...and it doesn't look good. He was admitted last week after having breathing problems and his lungs have massive tissue damage. The doctors still have no clue as to the cause but they have him on a respirator since he had a massive stroke this morning. I just booked a flight to NY for tomorrow evening, but it's gonna be so hard to say goodbye. He's going to be sorely missed by my family. He was always the one with the jokes (no matter how many times he told the same one, he still had you rolling on the floor), he was always Santa for Christmas, and for New Years he would dress up as baby new year, wearing nothing but an adult diaper and banner with the year on it. He was a barber by profession ( I can't tell you how many times I saw Matt and Kevin Dillon in his chair getting a trim), and was also devoted member of his local church and a volunteer firefighter for as long as I can remember. But most importantly, he was a mentor to me, and my wine-making buddy. Ever since he quit smoking 20 years ago, he's been the healthiest member of my family. Sure, he had his daily wine and his Stock '84 brandy, but always had a clean bill of health. So you can imagine what a shock this is. I'm gonna miss my uncle so much. :cry: :cry: :cry:

If I didn't know better, I'd think I was living an episode of The Twilight Zone which is on right now. You see, the first 5 years of this decade have really sucked for my family:

2001: I lost 2 cousins and 7 friends on 9/11
2002: My brother was diagnosed with Leukemia
2004: Another uncle (his brother) passed away after a battle with colon cancer
...and now this...WTF!!