Any gin drinkers here?

Joined Mar 2007
52 Posts | 0+
OK I am a newbie and I drink cheap gin. Recently bought a case of Seagram's "Special Reserve." Good price and not a bad gin. I prefer Boodles but am drinking Seagrams for the price. I prefer it with a good Spanish Manzanilla olive and no vermouth. I sometimes add a drop or two of a decent Scotch in lieu of said vermouth.

Somebody educate me?

Tried all

Best Gin I ever tasted is Beefeaters. Tried them all. I like my martini's before dinner and like I said I have found nothing to compare to it including all the fancy Bombay's, etc., etc.

My perfect martini is made as follows.

1. Open the gin and add the dry vermouth. I usually put whatever it takes to fill the gin bottle to about a half inch or so from the top.

2. Place the gin bottle in the refrigerator for at least 12 hours or better. Also at that time put your martini glass(es) in the freezer and your olives in the refrigerator.

3. Later or the next day just take a glass out of the freezer, pop an olive in, and pour.

This technique does not water the gin down with melting ice and provides you with a pure unadulterated drink.

Enjoy!

Bellringer is another decent inexpensive gin, but I am partial to Tanqueray if I have a few extra bucks. Their Rangpur is excellent as well.

But I'm not a martini guy. Don't like olives. But gimlet's, I love me a gimlet. Oh yeah, and the vesper, love a good vesper. And a local place has their own drink called an Alki Cruiser that involves gin lemon and soda. Very refreshing.

Hendricks Gin - end of story, lock the thread, nothing else to see here. :lol:

more Hendricks…

In a previous thread I recommended the Spencer, my favorite holiday cocktail. I enjoyed a few over Thanksgiving weekend and offer this amendment for ratification:

Spencer Cocktail
1.5 oz. Hendrick's Gin
3/4 oz. Apricot Brandy (I used plain ol' Hiram Walker)
1 tsp. fresh orange juice
1 dash Angostura bitters
1 twist of orange peel