cbs0121's Notes & Reviews

Joined Feb 2008
13 Posts | 0+
In the grand tradition of Kuzi and Chris, I've decided to catalogue my experiences in one thread.

So, first, a little background. I'm just returning to cigars after about a year or so away. Before that I had smoked for around a year and a half. My preferences run mostly in the medium to full flavored range, but I do take the occasional milder cigar as a change of pace. My pallet isn't exactly fine tuned to cigars, but it's pretty good - I'm an avid cook, and before hopping on my current path I was almost a culinary arts student @ Johnson and Wales in Charlotte. I don't have any storage capacity yet, but I'll have a coolerdor up and running soon, seems like the most economical way to go about it.

And now, today's smoke.

Tatuaje Havana VI Hermosos
Size: Corona Gorda, 5 and 5/8ths by 46
Wrapper: Sun Grown Nicaraguan Corojo
Binder: Nicaraguan
Filler Nicaraguan
Price Paid: $6.15 at a local B&M

Appearance-
Wrapper is a deep red with a simple red band bearing the Tatuaje name and fleur de lis. Quite a beautiful color for a cigar if I do say so myself. The veins aren't as prominent as on some Corojo cigars, no big ones standing out. Texture is smooth with a little tooth. It's very, very stiff, and that leads me to believe the draw may be a bit of an issue. The triple cap is perfect.

Pre Light -
Wow! This guy's quite aromatic. Nothing stands out prominently, but the aroma is more assertive than almost any other cigar I've had other than a Partagas Serie D no. 4 I was fortunate to score about two years ago. Different, not as barnyard-ish as the Partagas, but prominent. Sweeter, I guess is the best way to put it.

Lightup -