Length of smoke

Joined May 2007
168 Posts | 0+
Northern California
I'm still a newbie. An old newbie. A really inquisitive old newbie. Whenever I 'get into' a new area of interest I generally research the hell out of it so I can know as much as I can absorb about it.

So, here's a question I haven't yet seen addressed in the forum:

Suppose we start with two cigars of the same brand and tobacco composition, same length, same RH, everything identical except the ring guage. Let's say we have a lonsdale and a churchill and we hook them up to a laboratory-style 'puffer' machine which will take the same number of puffs at the same frequency, the same volume of puff, etc. Everything identical except for ring guage.

Here's the question: will one smoke last longer than the other? Is 'length of smoke' a function of tobacco mass? If not, what's your best guess as to what it is?

Any input you may care to share will be appreciated. Thanks a heap.

Marty

jlmarta said:
If not, what's your best guess as to what it is?

Marty

What/////
???
Not sure what your asking????

The difference in the 2 smokes or why some smoke longer than others???

The difference of ring gauge is the amount of air you would draw through
the cigar.
The larger ring gauge would smoke cooler -

as for time - oils, thickness of leaf all play a factor - the same exact blend
should (IMHO) smoke the same amount of time.

Ok I'll admit it! I am a nerd. If all factors are the same, i.e. cigar, ambient, volume to be drawn, etc... The larger ring gauge will smoke longer. It is pure physics. The larger ring gauge has more volume, and assuming that you are going to draw the same amount of volume on every puff, naturally you will get more smoke out of a product that has more volume.

Now back to reality, you probably will not see a difference since hopefully you are not smoking as an experiment of time, but truly enjoying the cigar.

hopefully you are not smoking as an experiment of time said: