lets talk cuts

Joined Oct 2007
58 Posts | 0+
how about someone lists a cigar and then someone else lists how they would cut it and why and then the person who answers lists a different cigar with something in common, either same brand ,wrapper filler, dimensions, year, etc...

I'll start, I've been saving a gurkha beast for five months for a special event on november 30th and was wondering between a straight cut or a punch...

to me, its all about shape.

toprs and perfectos are cut with a double guillotine, anything else.... punch.

kuzi16 said:

This is true, but aside from torpedos it also has to do with what cut you are in the mood for!!

I agree it's all what I'm in the mood for. Obviously the torps and perfectos would be very difficult to cut with a punch, so generally it's the xikar for those. Outside of that I like to change it up a bit.

I have a new Colibri V-cutter so I've been recently using that for about 85% of the larger ring gauge smokes.

If I'm doing anything while smoking I like to use the punch becuause I feel that it removes less of the cap and enables me to maintain the integrity of the cigar better.

And somtimes I just want tons of smoke with little or no restriction so i just chop that cap almost all the way off with the double guillotine and suck in all that great smoke uninhibited and let it go straight to the brain and back out through the nose.

....but that's just my take on the subject

As far as wrapper, filler, year....etc...I don't really think that makes all that much difference to me. Mostly has to do with size, and a small amount to do with strength.

So what you're all saying is that I need a punch cutter so I can give that a try.

Good advice.

Trent

kuzi16 said:

Ditto for me. I would ad that I have two punches. The Xikar 007 punch and one that is almost twice as big that I made for the big ring cigars.