Need HELP with my first humidor

Joined Apr 2005
1 Posts | 0+
New Jersey
I just recieved my first humidor from a buddy of mine and I'm having a little trouble. I set up my humidor like I was told by wiping down the inside walls with distilled water and filling up the humidifier then I let it sit 24 hours. All was fine my digital hygrometer read 70% so I placed my cigars in the humidor. A day later I opened it up for a second and the humidity dropped to 67%. the next day to 65%. So I added more distilled water and basically repeated the same dropoff in humidity. Is it normal to have to add water every couple days or is my humidor not working properly?
Please help a beginner out,
Bill

I am not an expert on large humidors, but I bet most will tell you that 65% is perfectly normal. If it continuing to drop past 60%, then that may be a problem. Does it drop past %60 in a 48 hr time period? What is the size of the humidor? Was it used before your friend gave it to you? It may have a "leak" or a vent in the humidor which could let humidity escape. Your friend may have known about this and possibly was the reason it was handed to you. (but I dont want to speculate) What kind of humidification device are you using? What are you filling it with? What temperature are you keeping your humidor at? That can effect the humidity. I think that is enough questioning for now.

No, it is not normal to add water every couple of days.

Some of these questions may help us answer your problem. Others here are more experienced with humidors. Rest assured they can solve pretty much any problem related.

I guess I have the honor to welcome you to this forum. You have come to the right place. Glad to have you here. Enjoy!