NJsmokey's Cigar Reviews

Joined Aug 2007
637 Posts | 0+
I smoked IMHO the best cigar I ever had last night. It has moved me to start posting my reviews as a record for myself and to get others feed back. I am still a newb as far as I am concerned so my reviews will change as I go along but I am going to start with the stick I had last night a Ashton VSG Robusto. Plese feel free to leave feed back. What I have learned here in the last few months has truely raised my cigar experience to a whole new level.

Cigar: Ashton VSG
Size: Robusto 5.5" x 50
In Humi: 1 Month recieved sans Cello
Cut: Punch
Light: Tourch
Drink: Kona Coffe and Water
Weather: Cold it's January in NJ

Prelight:
The fresh ground coffee was brewing and I went out back to light this Christmas Cigar. I was a late celebrating of the Giants win over the Cowgirls (My super bowl). I am skeptical of a of cigar with such hype. I had an Ashton Cabinet and a AF sungrown last year and I did nto care for either, But I always like to have two of a stick before passing final judgement. I recently had my first short story so I feel the others may have just been my inexperiance with cigars at the time.

This cigar is beautifully constructed. Firm with just the slightest give, a mild box press, chocolate colored wrapper. I also find the artwork on the band very attractive wich dosen't hurt. When I sniff it I smell an entire B&M. That wonderful smell that hits me as I crest the door of cedar and well kept tobacco. I lick the cap and grab my punch. My $2 punch has trouble with the well constructed cap. I bought a cheap one to see if I would like the cut and it is now my favorite, time to buy a good cutter. The prelight draw is perfect! Not loose at all and just firm enough. I taste some cedar and dark chocolate on the prelight pull. I toast the end, take a puff or two and go inside to fix my coffee.

Burn: