quick- someone suggest what i should drink tonight with opus

Joined Feb 2006
816 Posts | 0+
West Hartford, CT
im gonna have my first opus x tonight, any drink suggestions other than a straight whiskey?
tia
-matt

Well, here goes the "obvious"- straight brandy/Cognac. A lot of people prefer that to whisky with a cigar. Personally I wobble back & forth. Sometimes I'm in the mood for Cognac, other times a nice single malt.
After those two, my next choice (flavor wise) is coffee. I usually drink it black with a cigar, though a bit of cream isn't bad either if you don't like it black. I have no experience with sugar in coffee + a cigar.
Plain 'ol water works well too. Not much flavor there, so you're just tasting the cigar. A lot of times I'll start out with some brandy or whiskey and a glass of water, then after I finish the booze I'll just drink water while finishing the cigar.

If you're going to smoke a fresh, right out of the store Opus X, or maybe a month or two out of the store at most, then I'd suggest coffee. You'll need it to get up off the canvas after the Opus X knocks you on your butt, and the referee is going, . . .

SEVEN, EIGHT, . . .!!!

:cryinlaugh: :rotflmao: :pumpkin: :mrgreen: :cryinlaugh:

I haven't tried this (yet... contemplating a liquor store run for Jameson...) but Irish coffee sounds like a good idea with a cigar.

Unless you like strong cigars, BLACK coffee would be better than Irish coffee.

:cryinlaugh: :sm_angel: :bolt:

Vintage port goes very well with Opus too.
Or you could go all out and have that cigar with a bottle of Opus One wine :wink:

I'm not so sure Carlito would approve of the pairing with the Opus One wine. I'm sure he's probably still a bit peeved from the lawsuit they were engaged in when the makers of Opus One wine tried to stop him from calling his cigar the Opus X.

So... what'd you drink with your Opus?