Some questions and recommendations?

Joined Apr 2006
28 Posts | 0+
Boston, MA
I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to cigars right now. I've smoked a few Ashtons (which I loved) and an Arturo Fuente for the time being. My brother-in-law got me on them. They are a joy! Good times. Anyways, I had a few questions regarding cigars and everything about them. I've looked on a lot of websites, but I still had questions, so I came here. Here goes:

1 . Do I still need a humidor when I order a box set of cigars from a website? Do the boxes they come in preserve humidity? Also, some humidors only hold 20, and a lot of boxsets are 25. Are these numbers relative with size? A box set would last me a few months easy.

2. Regarding butane lighters, which one is a good one to get? I'm not cheap, but I also don't feel like throwing more than $20-$30 on a good refillable lighter.

3. I like Ashtons right now, but still have a lot of others on their line to try. I've had an Imperial and Monarch. I believe I can handle mild to medium. Among Ashton users, any great ones to try?

4. If you bought a box set of Ashtons, which would it be? Or are box sets worth it to you?

A beginner asking advice. Thanks :oops:

First off, welcome. You found a great place to hang out.
Now onto your questions:

1. If you plan on keeping cigars for more than a week I highly suggest picking up a humidor. Say away from a humidor that holds a small amount of cigars like 20. Spending a little more for a larger storage unit now will save you money in the long run.

2. I've had $2 lighters perform fantastic and $150 ones which were absolute crap. My current torch lighter cost me around 7 bucks and it's almost a year old. If you're gonna drop some cash on a good one, make sure the company stands by its product and that it's covered against normal wear and tear.

3. There are lots of great Ashtons out there. A couple of my favorites are the VSG line as well as the Aged Maduro line.