Tanzania Peaberry

Joined Aug 2005
2K Posts | 0+
Gahanna, OH
Okay, I'm new to the coffee forum, but I know my brothers of the leaf will take care of me. I just purchased a cannister of TP last night and ground it at the store. I've heard good things about it but just wanted to get some further impressions from other members. I'm probably just going to make a cup or two at a time. Any suggestions?

Just wanted to revive this thread from the dead as i just bought a 3# bag of green tanzanian peaberry. I'll report my tasting after i roast my first batch.

I have a fresh Freedom Press of Tanzania Peaberry brewing right now. Excellent coffee, certainly one of the most aromatic coffees I've ever smelled, and great tasting, with an accent on caramel flavors. I purchased this latest pound at Oren's in NYC.

Tanzanian Peaberry is one of my favorite afordable coffees. Right up there with Kenya AA. Surprisingly, Costco has (or had) a 2lb bag for approx $12. Couldn't pass it up. It actually turned out quite well. The stuff from my local coffee shop is only slightly better for another $3 for 2 lbs.

I just picked up my first bag of Kenya AA. This is my first foray into the regional coffees so I hope it is a good one!

Mmm - Kenya AA! Definitely an excellent bean! One of my favorites.

Yup, that's another one of the all-time greats. Kenyan coffee in general, all the nuanced varieties, are great.

With less than a day out of the roaster this had a lot of body and character. Not as good as others that I have had but pretty nice. I am not sure of the quality of the bean that I bought; but its still real good coffee. Lots of flavour.

Two questions:

1. How far along did you roast it?

2. What others have you had that you thought were better? (Always looking for something new to try!)

I roasted it to full city; just before second crack.