Uncle Beanz Ethiopian Worka. . . .

Joined Sep 2003
9K Posts | 0+
Puerto Rico/NYC
A quiet and thoughtful "wow" on this one.

Where do I begin? There is something about Ethiopian coffees, a common thread if you will, that in my experience, tends toward "earthy," "winey" and "lemony." Certainly not all Ethiopian coffees will have that entire flavor profile, but a good and properly roasted bean will often have at least one of those flavors in good strength.

Now, mind you, unlike bourbon or the subjects of training, nutrition and performance enhancing drugs, I'm an infant here. Yes, I have 17 years experience of buying whole bean coffee, real coffee, experimenting with various methods before settling on the French Press, hand grinding it, and trying anything and everything I could.

But compared to folks like Uncle Beanz and oedipus1, I MIGHT be able to reach their shoe laces if I reached up far enough with my right arm if standing next to them.

Nevertheless, my own taste buds and experience is what I have to go on here, and I'm in the process of trying, albeit with some Bloofingtonian humour, to do some very serious reviews on every Uncle Beanz varietal I try. And just as you folks who smoke certain cigars can tell a real one from certain flavor components, an Ethiopian coffee will make someone familiar with the realm go, "Aha, a true Ethiopian."

And so, Uncle Beanz Ethiopian Worka enters the picture. And in my first pot I noticed an incredibly pungent, totally confounding aroma coming from the freshly ground beans in the carafe. And because of some intense computer work going on at the time, I had to sort of catch aromas, flavor profile and effects on the fly. But they did make an impression on me, right from the mystifying aroma, yet quite familiar one, of the freshly ground beans, to the distinct and equally mystifying flavor profile.