What went wrong with this Partagas?

Joined Mar 2004
47 Posts | 0+
Hi all,

So I'm still very new to all this - doing a lot of reading, smoking a lot of different cigars...

This morning I was looking forward to a Partagas Spanish Rosado (San Agustin) that I bought from the local cigar shop yesterday.

From the very beginning it had a really tight draw and barely any smoke at all. It almost seemed as if it wasn't even lit although it was actually burning pretty evenly.

After only 15-20 minutes, I finally gave up on it. I was actually enjoying the taste (what little of it I could get), so I was pretty disappointed.

I've been opening up my cigars after smoking them, just to get a look at the different fillers and see how they're built. When I opened up this cigar, I noticed that it was very dry and brittle. Usually when I open them up I see long moist leaves. But the Partagas literally crumbled away in my hands.

So, this was actually my first experience with such a tight draw. What could I have done differently so as not to have wasted the cigar?

I realize now that I ought to let all my cigars sit in the humidor for a few weeks. Would that have cured this Partagas? Or maybe they're supposed to be that dry? Not really sure...

thanks!