Cigar wrapper question.

May 26, 2013
2
0
Newark DE
#1
I'm new to the hobby and have been enjoying a lot of imported cigars from my local cigar shop. However lately I have been Getting nasty reactions to the wheat gluten in some of the wrappers and I know that most cigar makers use a vegetable wheaty glue for the wrapper and this is a problem for me as I have celiacs disease which puts any wheat products off the menu even on a cigar wrapper. My question whether if any makers use exclusively pectin or any non wheat based adhesives for their wrappers? Any advice is sincerely appreciated.
 
Aug 10, 2007
1,646
28
Somewhere down in Texas
#4
Grim,

Welcome to the forum. Honestly, I thought pectin was used on all wrappers and have no knowledge of it being wheat based. Tough question. I agree with Tony, I think only the manufactures know the recipe. It wouldn't surprise me if the individual rollers didn't know either.

Hopefully you can find the answer you are looking for or someone else can chime in to this thread and give you a reply that actually required thought.


DL
 
Apr 7, 2006
1,741
1
on the grass
#5
pectin is made from fruit if i am not mistaken. my dad has celiacs and smokes tons of cigars. stay away from infused or flavord cigars and stay away from sweet tips as well.
 

Similar threads