Cigars lose flavor!

Joined Mar 2005
6 Posts | 0+
Hello. I'm pretty new to cigars but I've been doing alot of research and I could use some advice. My cigars despite being kept at between 70 and 72% humidity and around 55 degrees seem to lose their flavor in just a couple of weeks. I'm expecting my 65% beads any day now and hopefully they will bring the humidity down some. Do you believe that the humidity's the problem or is the temp to low? I keep them in the basement because I figure it has the most consistent temp especially once summer arrives. I would appreciate any suggestions as it's very frustrating to feel like I'm doing things right but the cigars still lose their flavor. Thanks

bryansf7741, welcome to the forum! I'm not sure why this is happening to you, i have never heard of this before. I like to keep my cigars around 65%, but I don't think that a higher RH level would affect the taste at all, unless your sticks don't burn well then that might have something to do with it. 55 degrees seems a little low to me, but not that low. What kind of humidor do you have? The sticks are only two weeks old? Where do you buy them from?

Hello. Thanks for responding! The humidor is the Diamond Crown Strathmore that I actually bought from Cigar.com. I have a digital hygrometer. It's pretty humid in my basement and I have the vents on the humidification device completely closed and it still is reading 72%! I bought the cigars from Famous Smoke Shop.com and they tasted fine when I received them but they've been steadily losing flavor. I do have a slight problem with burn, I have to relight a couple of times but it doesn't happen everytime. The cigars don't even have their aroma anymore, they just smell like smoke and taste like nothing, it's very frustrating.

That's very interesting....I do find that cigars burn better at a lower RH, but as far as flavor, you got me. What are the smokes that lost the flavor?